Animal Defenders of Westchester

Home Page
Action Alerts
Articles
Campaigns
Events
Westchester4Geese
How Can I Help?
Letters
Who We Are
Links

We advocate on all animal protection and exploitation issues, including experimentation, factory farming, rodeos, breeders and traveling animal acts.

Animal Defenders of Westchester
P.O. Box 205
Yonkers, NY 10704

Action Alerts

Rye deer overpopulation has officials considering bow hunt
15 Apr 2013

On April 15, 2013 News 12 aired coverage of a proposed bow hunt 'cull' to 'thin' their deer population.  Most animal advocates are against all forms of hunting, as are we; but  Bow Hunting is arguably the cruelest version of hunting - even rifle hunters denounce it.  There are numerous variables making it wildly inaccurate, including wind conditions, bow maneuvering and strength, all at a moving target.  It is far more likely that an animal shot with a bow will stagger away injured, wind up with a infection, and die alone suffering pathetically.  Visit Committee to Abolish Sport Hunting (CASH) for more information on this subject.  
 
http://westchester.news12.com/search/rye-deer-overpopulation-has-officials-considering-bow-hunt-1.5071060#comments
 
Furthermore, Hastings, NY has just introduced a program of birth control for deer - making Rye's suggestion all the more disgraceful.  
 
Please contact the city of Rye, NY and politely but strongly denounce their plan, urging them to instead use all humane forms of learning to live with their deer residents without ever killing them.
 
There is also an official city meeting at Rye City Hall Wednesday night, at 1051 Boston Post Road.  A 'Public Comments' section is included in the agenda.
 
 
Mayor Douglas French dfrench@ryeny.gov 
 
Phone number: (914) 967-7404
 
COUNCIL MEMBERS:
Laura U. Brett lbrett@ryeny.gov
Richard P . Filippi rfilippi@ryeny.gov
Peter W. Jovanovich pjovanovich@ryeny.gov 
Julie P . Killian jkillian@ryeny.gov
Catherine F. Parker cparker@ryeny.gov
Joseph A. Sack jsack@ryeny.gov 

Thanks to Kim Gold for this contact information
WWW.ADOW.ORG


Fair Use Notice: This document may contain copyrighted material whose use has not been specifically authorized by the copyright owners. We believe that this not-for-profit, educational use on the Web constitutes a fair use of the copyrighted material (as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law). If you wish to use this copyrighted material for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.

Your comments and inquiries are welcome


This site is hosted and maintained by:
The Mary T. and Frank L. Hoffman Family Foundation
Thank you for visiting all-creatures.org.


Since date.gif (991 bytes)