cat-book.gif (137497 bytes)cat-book-l.jpg (4482 bytes)

Animals In Print
The On-Line Newsletter


From Animals in Print 24 November 2000 Issue:

Say NO to V.O. "rabbit" Fur Cat Toys

Many pet stores, veterinary offices and others who sell cat toys, sell products manufactured or imported by Vo-Toys of Harrison, New Jersey.

Most of the "rabbit" fur toys on pet store shelves (at least in Seattle) come from this company.

Labelling on the packages indicates that the fur is only from rabbits who were otherwise totally consumed for food. The packages also indicate that the fur products are made in CHINA.

There is a STRONG possibility that these products are made from domestic dog or cat fur. In any event, Vo-Toys cannot categorically deny this, since much fur from China is mislabelled.

1) Please contact Vo-Toys and ask them to discontinue this line of products. (contact info below)

2) Please talk to your local pet store owner, veterinarian, department store representative, and ask them NOT to sell items made from rabbit or any other fur. Ask thenm to contact V0-Toys or their supplier.

3) Long shot: Contact the FBI, US Customs or local police to report possible illegal sales of dog and cat fur at your local pet store. Cite recent federal legislation making the import or sale of these items illegal. Contact HSUS for an information packet regarding illegal sales of dog and cat fur in US and forward these materials to your law enforcement agency. Demand that the store owner present proof of origin (not simply packaging material claims). Demand DNA testing of shelf products to determine origin.

Vo-Toys sells many other pet products and need not continue to sell these fur items to stay in business.

Enough complaints from merchants and legal challenges and they will discontinue these products. Let's make it happen!

Bob

Contact info below:

The Vo-toys, Inc. (corporate office)
400 South Fifth Street,
Harrison, New Jersey 07029

Karen Rugar - Customer Service
customerservice@vo-toys.com 
800-272-0088
http://vo-toys.com/  http://vo-toys.com/AB1191/showprod.cfm?&DID=6&User_ID=2762&st=6487&st2=-62811936&st3=-65333365&CATID=8&ObjectGroup_ID=23   (fur mice)

Other company contacts:
  Annie Cummings  anniec@vo-toys.com
  Bernice Canter  bernice@vo-toys.com
  Karen Rugar  karenr@vo-toys.com
  John Malanga  johnm@vo-toys.com
  Linda Hernandez  lindah@vo-toys.com
  Maria Santos  marias@vo-toys.com
  Patti McKenna  pattim@vo-toys.com
  Holly Young  hollyy@vo-toys.com
  Gary Hirschberg garyh@vo-toys.com
  Arthur Hirschberg arthurh@vo-toys.com
  Sharon Morgan sharonm@vo-toys.com
  Suqi Gu suqig@vo-toys.com
  Larry Cobb larryc@vo-toys.com
  Lee Scoville lees@vo-toys.com
  Gary Jacobs garyj@vo-toys.com
  Paula Zerdes paulaz@vo-toys.com
  Eileen Eubanks eileene@vo-toys.com
  Joe Wade joew@vo-toys.com
  Judy Maves Snodgrass judys@vo-toys.com
  Tim Taft timt@vo-toys.com
  Chris Mott chrism@vo-toys.com

Return to Animals in Print 24 Nov 2000 Issue

| Home Page | Newsletter Directory |

Please send comments and submittals to the Editor: Linda Beane Ljbeane1@aol.com

Animals in Print - A Newsletter concerned with: advances, alerts, animal, animals, attitude, attitudes, beef, cat, cats, chicken, chickens, compassion, consciousness, cows, cruelty, dairy, dog, dogs, ecology, egg, eggs, education, empathy, empathize, empathise, environment, ethics, experiment, experiments, factory, farm, farms, fish, fishing, flesh, food, foods, fur, gentleness, health, human, humans, non-human, hunting, indifference, intelligent, intelligence, kindness, lamb, lambs, liberation, medical, milk, natural, nature, newsletters, pain, pig, pigs, plant, plants, poetry, pork, poultry, research, rights, science, scientific, society, societies, species, stories, study, studies, suffering, test, testing, trapping, vegetable, vegetables, vegan, veganism, vegetarian, vegetarianism, water, welfare


This site is hosted and maintained by:
The Mary T. and Frank L. Hoffman Family Foundation
Thank you for visiting all-creatures.org.
Since date.gif (991 bytes)