NASA Nukes Monkeys. Stop Them.

From all-creatures.org
Action Alerts

Moving people toward compassionate living

Your letters and calls do help!

Originally Posted: 14 December 2009

NASA Nukes Monkeys. Stop Them.

WIN! NASA Nixes Cruel Radiation Experiments On Monkeys.

THIS CAMPAIGN IS NOW CLOSED. Thanks to all who participated.

Read Victory! NASA Shelves Radiation Experiments on Monkeys

FROM Kinship Circle

Tell NASA to stop conducting radiation tests on squirrel monkeys. Now!

CONTACT

NASA Headquarters
Washington, DC 20546-0001
NASA Administrator Charles F. Bolden, Jr.: 202-358-0000
HQ Information Center: info-center@hq.nasa.gov
Andrew Schain, NASA Headquarters: andrew.schain@nasa.gov
NASA HQ comment form: http://www.nasa.gov/centers/hq/about/contact_us.html

NASA Public Communications Office
NASA Headquarters, Suite 5K39 / Washington, DC 20546-0001
ph: 202-358-0001; fax: 202-358-4338
email: public-inquiries@hq.nasa.gov

NASA PUBLIC RELATIONS / SOCIAL MEDIA
Stephanie Schierholz: stephanie.schierholz@nasa.gov
Grey Hautaluoma: grey.hautaluoma-1@nasa.gov
Doc Mirelson: doc.mirelson@nasa.gov
Beth Dickey: beth.dickey-1@nasa.gov
Jennifer Knotts: norma.j.knotts@nasa.gov
Keith Koehler: keith.a.koehler@nasa.gov
Bob Jacobs: bob.jacobs@nasa.gov

NASA Office of Inspector General
P.O. Box 23089 / L'Enfant Plaza Station / Washington, D.C. 20026
ph: 1-800-424-9183; Curator, Michael Campbell: michael.campbell@nasa.gov
NASA Official, Steven Clevenger: Steven.M.Clevenger@nasa.gov

EMAIL BLOCK (ALL EMAILS FROM ABOVE)
info-center@hq.nasa.gov, andrew.schain@nasa.gov,
public-inquiries@hq.nasa.gov, stephanie.schierholz@nasa.gov,
grey.hautaluoma-1@nasa.gov, doc.mirelson@nasa.gov, beth.dickey-1@nasa.gov,
norma.j.knotts@nasa.gov, keith.a.koehler@nasa.gov, bob.jacobs@nasa.gov,
michael.campbell@nasa.gov, Steven.M.Clevenger@nasa.gov

INFORMATION / TALKING POINTS

Dear Administrator Bolden, NASA Headquarters, Public Communications, Public
Relations, and NASA Office of Inspector General:

I stand behind NASA's mission. However, the use of live animals in space radiation tests is a major leap backward for humankind. Please do not subject squirrel monkeys to high-energy gamma-ray radiation to assess human response to long-term space voyages.

I agree that space radiation may endanger astronauts traveling far distances, such as a trip to Mars. But animal experiments generate misleading results. Physiological, anatomical, and psychological variations between species make accurate extrapolation to humans unlikely. And while primates and humans share genetic likeness, their disease process and treatment differ tremendously. It is precarious to base "neurobehavioral effects of radiation on humans" upon non-predictive monkey tests.

I encourage NASA to continue utilizing animal-free technology, such as in
vitro methods with cellular components of human derivation. As you know, modern bioengineers have devised models with blood vessels and organ characteristics that better imitate human tissue function and design. A March 2009 Biotechnology and Bioengineering report details these 3D cellular systems derived from "building blocks" of active human cells.

Irradiating monkeys calls for experimenters to repeatedly blast restrained animals with gamma rays comparable to three years in space. Once tests conclude at Brookhaven National Laboratory in New York, the monkeys spend their lives as test subjects in a Harvard Medical School project.

Renowned primatologist Dr. Jane Goodall has shown that primates form social unions and experience complex emotions. Certainly, these sentient creatures experience pain and loneliness. I respectfully ask Administrator Bolden and his NASA colleagues to end this pointless cruelty.

Thank you...


Thank you for everything you do for animals!