Help Stop Elephant Abuse at Seattle's Woodland Park Zoo

From all-creatures.org
Action Alerts

Moving people toward compassionate living

Your letters and calls do help!

Originally Posted: 30 July 2010

Help Stop Elephant Abuse at Seattle's Woodland Park Zoo

FROM Animal Legal Defense Fund (ALDF) and Free Woodland Park Zoo Elephants

Urge the City of Seattle to stop funding the Woodland Park Zoo's cruel elephant exhibit and send all three elephants, Chai, Bamboo and Watoto to sanctuaries where elephants can BE elephants.

Watch Spaceless in Seattle for a new understanding of how elephants are abused (appropriate for children of all ages!

CONTACT

Sign an online petition

And/Or make direct contact to Seattle City Council Members:

Tom Rasmussen, Seattle City Council, Parks Committee Chair
tom.rasmussen@seattle.gov
206-684-8808

Richard Conlin, Seattle City Council, Council President
richard.conlin@seattle.gov
206-684-8805

Sally J. Clark, Seattle City Council
sally.clark@seattle.gov
206-684-8802

Nick Licata, Seattle City Council
nick.licata@seattle.gov
206-684-8803

Bruce Harrell, Seattle City Council
bruce.harrell@seattle.gov
206-684-8804

Tim Burgess, Seattle City Council
tim.burgess@seattle.gov
206-684-8806

Jean Godden, Seattle City Council
jean.godden@seattle.gov
206-684-8807

Mike O’Brien, Seattle City Council
mike.obrien@seattle.gov
206-684-8800

Sally Bagshaw, Seattle City Council
sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov
206-684-8801

Deborah Jensen, Woodland Park Zoo President
deborah.jensen@zoo.org
206-548-2416

INFORMATION / TALKING POINTS

As a result of inadequate facilities, abusive management practices, longstanding intentional neglect, and breeding practices in callous disregard for elephants’ welfare, the elephants Bamboo, Watoto, and Chai at Seattle's Woodland Park Zoo suffer from severe and chronic foot and joint injuries, unexplained physical trauma and bleeding, and sustained psychological harm. Chai’s daughter, Hansa, died in 2007 when she was only six years old as a result of the Zoo’s practices. A fourth Woodland Park Zoo elephant, Sri, who is currently on loan to another zoo’s breeding program, has endured the horror of carrying a full-term deceased fetus in her womb for over four years.

That’s why the Animal Legal Defense Fund is representing two outraged citizens who filed a lawsuit against the City of Seattle, Washington. The lawsuit aims to stop the City’s unlawful use of taxpayer dollars to support the Woodland Park Zoo’s reckless and illegally cruel treatment of its elephants.


Thank you for everything you do for animals!