Tell Staten Island hospital to instruct USDA to postpone any planned turkey killing
Action Alert from All-Creatures.org

FROM

Goose Watch NYC
October 2013

ACTION

We are asking the hospital to instruct USDA to postpone any planned turkey killing, implement a no feeding policy, allow more time for methods to curb the growth of the turkey population, and other alternatives. The turkeys have been on Staten Island for over 10 years, and it can't be expected that the coexistence issues can be solved in 10 minutes.

Please call and then email South Beach Psychiatric Center and local elected officials listed below.

Rosanne Gaylor, Executive Director
South Beach Psychiatric Center
Phone: (718) 667-2709
Fax: (718) 667-2344
E-mail: Roseanne.Gaylor@omh.ny.gov 

Alfredo Granados, Deputy Dir. Operations
Email: Alfredo.Granados@omh.state.ny.us 

Titus Mathews, Deputy Director, Administration
Email: titus.mathews@omh.ny.gov 

Karin A. Wagner, Ph.D. Deputy Director, Community Services
Phone: (718) 667-2742
Email: Karin.Wagner@omh.ny.gov 

NYS Assemblymember Nicole Malliotakis
Phone: (718) 987-0197
Email: malliotakisn@assembly.state.ny.us 

NYS Senator Andrew J. Lanza
Phone: (718) 984-4073
Email: lanza@senate.state.ny.us 

Council Member James Oddo
Phone is (718) 980-1017
Email: joddo@council.nyc.gov

INFORMATION / TALKING POINTS

turkey Staten Island Catskill sanctuary

The turkeys are not posing any imminent threat whatsoever. The community was outraged when approximately 90 turkeys were killed in August, and since that time 28 of the turkeys were relocated to Catskill Animal Sanctuary (photo above), where they will live out their lives, unlike those that were killed in August, and any killed this weekend. The killing of these turkeys is wrong, and a solution can be found.

Please take a few minutes to make these important calls. The USDA has not rounded up the turkeys as of yet, but inside information has shown imminent plans to kill more of the turkeys this weekend. The hospital is located at 777 Seaview Ave, Staten Island, NY, please go there tomorrow morning [October 26] if you can.


Thank you for everything you do for animals!


Return to Action Alerts

Other information you may find useful for your activism

Find area codes
Find zip codes