FACTS of Interest

About animals, food, health, the environment, and more each day...
an All-Creatures.org presentation

Today's FACT | A - Z Listing | List by Date | List by Subject

26 May 2008

Gelatin is derived from soaking animal (usually pig or cow) hides and bone in acids, then boiling them to extract the gelatin, and finally turning it into a dry powder.


Pictured above: examples of products containing gelatin.

* SOURCE:
  "The 'Jell-O Molding' of America" The Christian Science Monitor. 23 July 1992 www.csmonitor.com/1992/0723/23141.html t6543

* LEARN MORE:
   Vegan "Jello" Gelatin - Recipe and Tips
   Vegan Vanilla Pudding - Recipe

Previous Day  |  Next Day